Pippa van Iersel

Pippa van Iersel



Pippa van iersel




Dutch, The Netherlands


Top 3 kitesurfing spots?

  • Greece, Drepano
  • Brazil, Taiba
  • Dominican Republic, La Boca


Favourite gear setup?

  • 9m Vegas on medium medium setting
  • Clickbar S with 22 m lines
  • Team series 134
  • Duotone boots size 40


The biggest achievements in your kiteboarding career

  • 3rd place overall at the GKA Air games 2018
  • 3rd place in Brazil at the WKC 2018
  • 1st place at the women freestyle dutch nationals since 2016


Your hobbies aside kiteboarding?

Before I started kiteboarding I wanted to be a professional football (soccer) player, I played for many years and even selected for the youth dutch nationals 2 times. Besides playing football I was skateboarding, wakeboarding and snowboarding in the winter. My dad always said: “You have to do sports, play a music instrument and go to school” Well I managed to do that quite well haha. I play saxophone, accordion and piano. Doing a lot of sports, but the school part isn’t my strongest part ;) I didn’t finish high school but I studied 1,5 year at the dutch filmers academy. Filming became a hobby when I actually started to create my own promotion videos for sponsors in kiting. 


What do you do on a day without wind?

I train outside as much as possible. Love to run in the mountains or on the beach. But I also have to train in the gym to keep my strength.

At home I love to play music instruments because when I travel there aren’t a lot of possibilities to play. But besides that I still like to play football on the streets, skateboard or going for a wakeboard session with my homies :)


What style of music are you interested in?

I play classic piano by myself but I like to listen to (Electronic or 90s) Hip Hop/rap, Alternative Pop.


How and why did you start kiteboarding?

From my bedroom window I can see the water! So whenever it was windy I saw loads of kites hanging. When I saw people were able to jump and do tricks I wanted to try it. Lucky me, my dad is the most enthusiastic kiter I know. He already kites for 18 years. When I became 14 he took my sister and me out for our first session. I felt in love with the sport from the first moment. Just the adrenaline you get from it and the moments you share with your family on the water. I was kiting with my dad and sisters, all cruising behind each other and having so much fun. That’s where it all began and why I continued. 


Why are you riding for Duotone?

In several things I got inspired by this brand. At first it’s really innovative, not only in terms of material but also the way duotone promotes itself. The videos are so creative and the projects they are working on are really cool and inspiring. For me a collaboration only works if you can stand for the fully 100% behind the brand and that the brand believes in you as a rider. That’s exactly what I have with Duotone. Besides that, it’s an amazing team and the gear is perfect. I feel really honored to join this team :) 


What is your main goal for the future?

To be an innovative rider, share my passion and to inspire people. Besides that I want to be world champion :)


What training do you do to stay fit?

I go to the gym for strength and run


What would have been your job if you wouldn´t be a pro kiteboarder?

Professional soccer player or skateboarder. I always felt the urge to compete, no matter what I did.


What´s your favourite food?

Well my parents have a restaurant and my mom is a really good chef so it’s hard to choose one dish out of everything she kooks haha. But I love if she kooks Thai spicy food haha


Pippa van iersel


Pippa van iersel