DUOTONE SAILS 2020 Teaser Idol LTD 02
IDOL LTD
IDOL LTD
3D
SIZES
3,64,04,44,85,2

IDOL LTD

ULRALIGHT FREESTYLE COMP

Art.-No. 14200-1206

DAS LEICHTESTE UND DENNOCH WETTBEWERBSFÄHIGSTE FREESTYLE SEGEL DAS WIR JEMALS GEBAUT HABEN!

CHARACTERISTICS

IM VERGLEICH ZU SUPER HERO UND SUPER SESSION

WINDRANGE
Planing
Stability
RANGE OF USE
Flatwater
Down the Line
DRAFT FEELING
Forward / Direct
Centered / Soft
FREESTYLE ABILITY
New School
Classic

KEY FEATURES

CONVEX DACRON LUFF-PANEL

Maximale Elastizität ohne Verzerrung an den Latten ermöglicht maximalen Lift für alle Sprünge aus der Lee-Position

HOLLOW LOWER LEECH

HOLLOW LOWER LEECH stabilisiert das Profil oberhalb der Gabel und verhindert Liekflattern

RADIAL LOAD STRIPES

Zusätzliche RADIAL LOAD STRIPES im Schothorn verbessern die Profilstabilität und erweitern die Windrange

LIGHTEST FREESTYLE SAIL

Dank allerfeinster Hightech-Materialien (ODL Laminate, 100 Micron ULTRA FILM) unser leichtestes Freestyle Segel aller Zeiten

FASTEST DUCKING

Super hohes Schothorn und kurze Gabel ermöglichen schnellste Tauchmanöver ohne Geschwindigkeitsverlust

iROCKET 2.0

Werkseitig mittels Drehmoment kalibrierte individuelle Lattenspannungen.

We do care

Duotone Climate Partner
CO2 COMPENSATED PRODUCT
MORE INFORMATION
Making the most sustainable Windsurfing rig products on the market

Sustainability is the most important and pressing challenge of todays mankind to secure a livable mother earth for future generations to come!

Over the last 50 years Windsurfing has developed into a super high tech sport. But let's face it despite what others might tell you with the exception of aluminium booms and extensions Windsurfing rig products are a "mixture of petrol-based plastics". And most of the time up to 100% of these plastics are non-recycled (means "freshly produced") plastics. 
At least as of today there are no eco-friendly substitutes existing for the structural components offering the minimum requirements necessary to design modern Windsurfing products. Or why do you think no one wants to sail with wooden booms, aluminium masts or stretchy sails made of woven fabrics anymore?
There is only one sustainable way out of this dilemma:

MAKING LONGER LASTING PRODUCTS (LONGEVITY = SUSTAINABILITY)
A high performance product that lasts longer and best case can even be put into additional use on the second hand market is the best and only way to conserve the resources of our earth.
Of course light components have a massive impact on the performance and handling of your rig. That's why light weight is always on our briefing list when designing and engineering new products. And DUOTONE products are among or in many cases are the lightest on the market.
But durability and longevity were and will ALWAYS be on top of our priority list. Our industry leading warranty extensions bear witness to this philosophy:
- 2 year unconditional warranty on almost every hardware product (masts, booms and extensions+bases).
- 5 year warranty on 80% of our sails.
On sails we cannot emphasize enough that especially reducing the thickness of the monofilm and the XPly laminate has a radical influence on the longevity/sustainability. Reducing the film thickness by 50% reduces the UV-stability by 70%. Just to shortterm impress magazine testers or customers some brands use up to 70% thinner laminates/films than we do. This is not our understanding of sustainability.

DOING MORE
However, since we are fully aware of the importance of sustainability, we cannot simply stop here.
>> Only we have stopped using any plastic for packaging our sails. This saves approx. 5 sqm of plastic film and foam per sail.
>> Only our aluminium products (booms and extensions+bases) are manufactured in a CO2 neutral production facility.
>> Only our aluminium products (booms and extensions+bases) are produced in Germany using 100% European raw materials in order to keep shipping distances (to our manufacture and then to our central warehouse) at a minimum.
>> Only our sail bags are made out of 100% recycled plastic.
>> Only we compensate all carbon emissions caused by our sails during manufacture and transport by supporting a hydropower carbon offset project in Sri Lanka, the country where our sails are produced.

Wanna know more?

Duotone Windsurfing Sails 2020 Idol LTD Video 01

DETAILS

IDOL LTD

Leicht, leichter, am radikalsten! Das IDOL LTD ist das ganz persönliche Pro Model von Freestyle Rekordweltmeister Gollito Estredo. Designer Kai Hopf setzt für ihn mit diesem Handlingwunder alle seine Wünsche um und kreiert das am höchsten entwickelte und extremste Freestyle Segel, das wir jemals in Serie gefertigt haben. Alle Größen sind sensationell leicht, da statt herkömmlichem XPLY das zukunftsweisende High Tech Laminat „ODL“ und 100 Micron ULTRA FILM verwendet werden. Diese Materialien sind 50% leichter als bisherige Tuche, womit das Gewicht des IDOL LTD einem 1.5 m2 kleineren SUPER HERO (z.B. 4.8 wie 3.4) entspricht!
Das IDOL LTD kann alles, was Freestyler wollen. Es verhält sich absolut neutral, zeigt keinerlei unerwünschtes Eigen­leben und liegt so federleicht in der Hand, dass die 100%ige Konzentration auf Moves und Manöver bleibt. Man könnte meinen, dass man ohne Segel rotiert, da das IDOL LTD wahn­sinnig schnell durch sämtliche Tricks dreht und bei Duck Moves völlig ausbalanciert im Wind liegt. Das extrem hohe Schothorn und die kurze Gabellänge beschleunigen Tauch­manöver derartig, dass kaum Speed verloren geht. Die Erfolgsquote bei schwierigen Manövern und der Spaß an neuen Herausforderungen nimmt mit dem IDOL LTD schlagartig zu! 2020 kommen neue, hoch stabile Latten zu Einsatz, die auch grobe Abgänge problemlos wegstecken.
Schlicht­weg genial: Für den Foil-Einsatz gibt es beim IDOL LTD eine spezielle Öse am Achterliek, um das Segel noch aufrechter fahren zu können!

ACHTUNG! Auch wenn andere Hersteller nicht darüber spre­chen: Geringstes Gewicht ergibt sich nur durch Reduktion der Materialstärke. D.h., die Dicke des ODL Yachtlaminats wurde auf ein Minimum verringert, daher ist die UV­-Stabilität einge­schränkt. Somit sind diese Segel von der üblichen DUOTONE 2+3 YEAR WARRANTY ausgeschlossen!

Sail Mast Compatibility

Wanna know how other brands masts work with Duotone sails?

Sail><Mast Brand Compatibility

At DUOTONE we use a Medium Constant Curve for our masts (our bend percentages range between 61-63 bottom and 75-77 top depending on model and length). As this curve sits right in the middle within Constant Curve masts it offers the biggest compatibility of any bend curve. This makes our masts and sails the most compatible on the market.

HERE IS HOW GOOD OTHER BRAND MASTS WORK WITH OUR SAILS AND VICE VERSA:

  1. Challenger Sails, Ezzy, GA (2017 on), Goya, Gun Sails, KA Sails, Loft Sails, Naish Sails, NeilPryde (RDM masts), RRD, S2Maui, Sailloft, Sailworks, Severne (2014 on)
    >> 80-90% (depending on model and size)
     
  2. Hot Sails, NeilPryde (SDM masts), Point7, Simmer Style
    >> 70-80% (depending on model and size)
     
  3. Avanti, Gaastra (until 2016), Maui Sails, Severne (until 2013), Vandal
    >> Not compatible

Tech Specs

Idol Ltd

SIZES
BOOM MAX (CM)
LUFF MAX (CM)
VARIO TOP
BATTENS
WEIGHT (KG)
MAST TYPE (BEST/ALT.)
MAST GEO (BEST/ALT.)
MAST LENGTH (BEST/ALT.)
3.64.04.44.85.2
143147151155159
376386400420442
--------
44444
2.502.652.803.003.10
PLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVER
RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--
340/370370370400430

Duotone design philosophies

Think different

Produkte müssen intuitiv und schnellstmöglich einsatzbereit sein

Durch den Informationsüberfluss hat heutzutage niemand mehr die Zeit, Anleitungen zu lesen. Deshalb bemühen wir uns, unsere Produkte so intuitiv wie möglich zu designen, um dich schneller auf's Wasser zu bringen als mit jedem anderen Produkt. Kein Wunder, dass DUOTONE als der Feature-Weltmeister bezeichnet wird.
Hier sind einige Beispiele:

  • VTS 2.0
    Der erste "intergretationsfreie" visuelle Trimmindikator, der die korrekte Vorlieksspannung zweifelsfrei anzeigt. Version 2.0 wird mit einem Fenster im Protektor geliefert, um deinen individuellen Trimm zu markieren, sobald du deine ideale Einstellung gefunden hast.
     
  • HTS 2.0
    Durch das Markieren des Druckpunkts im Segel weisst du sofort, wo du deine Trapeztampen positionieren musst.
     
  • INDIVIDUAL BOOM LENGTH INDICATION
    Die Länge der Gabel ändert sich mit dem Winkel zum Mast. Wenn du also deine Gabel nach oben oder unten bewegst, musst du die Länge der Gabel anpassen. Als einzige Marke berücksichtigen wir das, indem wir 3 verschiedene Gabellängen auf das Schothorn und die Gabelaussparung drucken, so dass du immer die richtige Länge entsprechend deiner Gabelhöhe/Körpergröße kennst.
     
  • iROCKET 2.0
    Jede einzelne Latte im Segel benötigt eine andere Spannung. Deshalb werden alle unsere Latten werkseitig mit einem Drehmomentschlüssel auf die richtige individuelle Spannung kalibriert. Da die Schrauben mit Schraubenkleber gesichert sind, musst du niemals anfassen. Vielmehr kannst du sicher sein,  immer die perfekten Lattenspannungen zu haben. 
Ausschliesslich Polyester Gurtband

Keine Dehnung, kein Spannungsverlust. Was bei Sicherheitsgurten funktioniert, ist für uns Windsurfer gerade gut genug! Als einziger Hersteller verwenden wir ausschließlich Polyester Gurtband für (Vario-)Top sowie den Rollenblock. Der Vorteil gegenüber herkömmlichem Polypropylen ist die quasi nicht vorhandene Dehnung. Selbst brandneue Segel behalten damit die volle Vorlieksspannung und müssen nicht nachgetrimmt werden.

TECH FEATURES

IDOL LTD

Set & Go Vario-Top
Set & Go Vario-TopSet & Go Vario-Top

Ohne Ausprobieren die optimale VarioTop-Einstellung. Schon beim ersten Aufriggen ist ab sofort die korrekte Länge des Variotop festgelegt. Gut ablesbare Längenindikatoren zeigen die perfekte Einstellung in Bezug auf die verwendete Mastlänge an, sodass jegliches Testen und Nachjustieren entfällt!

TT Top
TT TopTT Top

Verbesserte Segelkontrolle bei mehr Wind. Designer Kai Hopf hat das TT TOP ursprünglich für das WARP entwickelt. Die reduzierte, konkave Ausprägung verbessert die Spannungsverhältnisse für einen effektiveren, dreidimensionalen Toptwist. D.h., bei entsprechend starkem Wind twistet das Top nicht nur horizontal, sondern auch vertikal. Böen werden regelrecht egalisiert, das Rigg liegt weiterhin ruhig in der Hand und ist daher über einen größeren Windbereich einsetzbar.

iRocket 2.0
iRocket 2.0iRocket 2.0

Super leicht und aerodynamisch.

Ein unauffälliges Detail mit riesiger Wirkung. iROCKET 2.0 Lattenspanner sind super leicht, aerodynamisch und hochstabil und besitzen hochwertige Bauteile wie eine selbstschmierende, Salzwasser-unempfindliche Messingmutter mit Edelstahlschraube, die allen Lattenspannungen gewachsen sind. iROCKET 2.0 ist zudem die Voraussetzung für eine echte Revolution:

100% korrekte Lattenspannung, ab Werk und für immer richtig eingestellt.

Wir kalibrieren bereits im Werk jede einzelne Latte nach Vorgabe der Entwicklung. Nicht nach Gefühl, sondern 100% exakt mittels Drehmomentschlüssel. Zudem versehen wir die Sicherungsmutter mit lösbarem Schraubenkleber, sodass eine Verstellung der Spannung ausgeschlossen wird. Das bedeutet, dass die Lattenspannung absolut korrekt ist, bleibt und nie wieder nachjustiert werden muss! Der mitgelieferte Schlüssel wird also nur noch für etwaiges individuelles Feintuning oder den seltenen Fall eines Lattenbruchs benötigt.

Mini Batten
Mini BattenMini Batten

Verhindern ungewolltes Liekflattern.

Kurze, sehr effektive Minilatten, die die Bereiche zwischen den durchgehenden Latten stützen und unangenehmes Flattern unterbinden.

Ultra Film
Ultra FilmUltra Film

Lighter and stronger than all.

Der leichteste Monofilm am Markt. Um noch mehr Gewicht zu sparen, verarbeiten wir beim super leichten IDOL LTD und beim WARP den nur 100 Micron starken ULTRA FILM. Unser Erfahrungswerte über die letzten 5 Jahre zeigt jedoch, daß unser exklusiver ULTRA FILM in der Praxis sogar haltbarer bzw. langlebiger ist als 20-30% dickere/schwerere Standard-Filme. Das Geheimnis liegt in der speziellen chemischen Zusammensetzung, denn nur beim ULTRA FILM kommen Carbonpartikel zum Einsatz. Ein extremer Monofilm, der im gesamten Body Panel zum Einsatz kommt und aufgrund der geringen Materialstärke entscheidend zum niedrigen Gesamtgewicht beiträgt.

Double Seam Technology
Double Seam TechnologyDouble Seam Technology

Doppelte Haltbarkeit, halb so viel Dehnung. DUOTONE fertigt unübertroffene Qualität, die unseren Segeln ein deutlich längeres Leben beschert. Dazu tragen entscheidend die Triple-Stitch-Zickzacknähte bei. Nicht wie sonst üblich einfach, sondern im Doppelpack! Sie laufen um alle exponierten Sturzbereiche, wodurch sich die Reißfestigkeit erhöht und die Dehnfähigkeit um bis zu 50% reduziert, was der Profilstabilität und der Performance zugutekommt.

Mast Sleeve Opener
Mast Sleeve OpenerMast Sleeve Opener

Reibungsfreies Einfädeln des Masten in die Masttasche. Ein genialer Trick macht Schluss mit dem langwierigen Einfädeln des Masten. Das DUOTONE Logo oberhalb der Gabelaussparung öffnet leicht die Tasche, so dass der Mast mit einer Hand ohne ständigem Nachziehen am Vorliek reibungsfrei einfädelt.

X.PLY PLUS
X.PLY PLUSX.PLY PLUS

Was wollt Ihr, maximale Durchstoßfestigkeit sowie UV-Alterungsbeständigkeit bei geringstem Stretch oder (theoretisch) besseren Ripstop?

Wir haben uns für Option A entschieden und das haltbarste Laminat auf dem Markt entwickelt. Da die Faktoren Durchstoßfestigkeit, Langlebigkeit und Stretch erwiesenermaßen ausschließlich von der verwendeten Filmdicke abhängig sind, verwenden wir für unser exklusives XPLY PLUS ausschließlich 150 bzw. 100 Micron Filmstärken. In aufwendigen Versuchsreihen haben wir die optimale Kombination aus notwendiger Filmstärke und Anzahl an Fäden ermittelt. Insbesondere das X.PLY PLUS mit 150 Micron weißt bei minimalem Mehrgewicht Haltbarkeitswerte auf, die bisherige Tuche bei weitem überbieten. Das wissen auch alle großen Surfcenter und Verleiher weltweit und vertrauen deshalb auf die unschlagbare Qualität und Lebensdauer unserer Segel.

Polyester Webbing Only
Polyester Webbing OnlyPolyester Webbing Only

Keine Dehnung, kein Spannungsverlust. Was bei Sicherheitsgurten funktioniert, ist für uns Windsurfer gerade gut genug! Als einziger Hersteller verwenden wir ausschließlich Polyester Gurtband für (Vario-)Top sowie den Rollenblock. Der Vorteil gegenüber herkömmlichem Polypropylen ist die quasi nicht vorhandene Dehnung. Selbst brandneue Segel behalten damit die volle Vorlieksspannung und müssen nicht nachgetrimmt werden.

3D TOP CAP
3D TOP CAP3D TOP CAP

Optimale Zugverteilung. Bei regulären Topkappen und Pinsystemen sind die Gurtbänder „eindimensional“ mit dem Segelkörper vernäht (links-rechts oder vorne-hinten) und übertragen die Vorlieksspannung nur punktuell. Die 3D TOP CAP ermöglicht eine „dreidimensionale“ und sehr breit gefächerte Übertragung der Kräfte auf den Segelkörper. Das eliminiert Topflattern und garantiert ein progressives Loose Leech, was die Wind Range erweitert. Der integrierte Abriebschutz macht schwere Verstärkungen am Ende der Masttasche überflüssig.

DOUBLE D BUCKLE
DOUBLE D BUCKLEDOUBLE D BUCKLE

Inspiriert von hochbelastbaren Klettergurten und Formel 1-Helmen. Der exklusive, zweiteilige Doppel-D-Metallverschluss am Vario Top, der bisherige Standardlösungen ersetzt. Diese Konstruktion garantiert beste Trimmeigenschaften und eliminiert Gurtbandrutschen zu 100%.

VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0
VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0

Perfekter Trimm und riesiger Einsatzbereich.

Schneller und genauer kann man nicht trimmen! Selbst Einsteiger trimmen damit das Segel in Sekunden 100% korrekt. Einfach Vorliek anziehen, bis das lose Acherliek im Top die Markierung „unteres“ oder „oberes Windlimit“ erreicht – fertig! VTS wirkt wie ein Turbolader, sorgt für maximale Performance und erweiterten Einsatzbereich.

TRIPLE TACK ROLLER
TRIPLE TACK ROLLERTRIPLE TACK ROLLER

Minimale Kräfte für den perfekten Trimm.

Die integrierte, Nickel-beschichtete Messing-Dreifachrolle minimiert die Vorliekstrimmkräfte ganz erheblich.

HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM
HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEMHTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM

Nie mehr falsch positionierte Trapeztampen! Kein langwieriges Herantasten an die optimale Tampenposition, keine harten Unterarme, kein ständiges Umgreifen! Der patentierte Aufdruck zeigt exakt an, wo der Mittelpunkt der Tampen sein muss. Einfach die Enden symmetrisch links und rechts vom Aufdruck montieren, fertig, passt.

DURATECH FOOT
DURATECH FOOT

Langzeitgarantie fürs Unterliek. Das Unterliek wird beim Wasserstart oder Aufholen ständig über den Standlack gezogen, insbesondere bei breiten Boards. Beim exklusiven DURATECH FOOT liegen die Nähte in einer großvolumigen Kunststoffschiene, sodass die raue Oberfläche Nähte und Material nicht aufscheuern kann.

Epoxy Batten
Epoxy BattenEpoxy Batten

Extrem stabil, extrem bruchsicher. Je nach Einsatzbereich, Platzierung im Segel und notwendiger Spannung ist die Lattenbelastung enorm. Um Brüchen vorzubeugen, verbauen wir bei allen soliden Latten ausschließlich extrem haltbare Epoxy-Laminate, die wirklich alles überleben und der DUOTONE Langlebigkeit voll gerecht werden.

TRUE QUOTES

IDOL LTD

GOLLITO ESTREDO
“Das etwas schmalere Top und die niedrigere Position der Latte oberhalb der Gabel verleihen dem neuen IDOL LTD noch mehr Lift und Kontrolle bei all meinen Moves”
GOLLITO ESTREDO
“Erst konnte ich es gar nicht glauben, aber das neue Idol LTD ist stabiler bei Starkwind und gleitet dennoch besser an!”
ADRIEN BOSSON
ADRIEN BOSSON

360° VIEW

IDOL LTD

GALLERY

IDOL LTD

Duotone Windsurfing Sails 2020 Idol LTD

We do listen

Be part of the Duotone development

Wanna improve future products?

DO YOU HAVE ANY INPUT OR IDEAS ON HOW TO IMPROVE OUR PRODUCTS?
SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS WITH US!

We strive to create products that are superior in performance and function to anything else on the market. Therefore, we are not just interested in the opinion and experience of professional riders, but listen to ALL windsurfers out there. Because we know we can learn from everyone, we want to collect the opinions of windsurfers worldwide.

This project runs throughout the whole year. Every year on January 15th, the best ideas will be rewarded and might actually be implemented into future products.

So, you have got an idea? Contact us >HERE<  and take your chance to make a difference. (Please use "R&D input for DTW" as a subject line)

REWARDS

1st - One sail (free of choice)

2nd - One Silver Boom (free of choice)

3rd -  One Power.XT 2.0 (free of choice)

Wanna improve future products?

disqus the new Idol LTD

Comments or questions? Here you get first hand rider feedback.

IDOL LTD
IDOL LTD
3D
SIZES
3,64,04,44,85,25,6

IDOL LTD

ULRALIGHT FREESTYLE COMP

Art.-No. 14900-1206

THE LIGHTEST YET MOST COMPETITIVE FREESTYLE SAIL OUT THERE!

CHARACTERISTICS

WINDRANGE
Planing
Stability
RANGE OF USE
Flatwater
Down the Line
DRAFT FEELING
Forward / Direct
Centered / Soft
FREESTYLE ABILITY
New School
Classic

KEY FEATURES

CONVEX DACRON LUFF-PANEL

Maximum elasticity without distortion from the battens enables maximum lift for all jumps against the sail

HOLLOW LOWER LEECH

Hollow Lower Leech (scooped leech outline) with additional MINI BATTEN stabilizes the profile right above the boom and prevents leech flattering

RADIAL LOAD STRIPES

Additional Radial Load Stripes at the clew improve the stability and extend the wind range

LIGHTEST FREESTYLE SAIL

Our lightest Freestyle sail of all time, thanks to trend-setting high-tech yachting material (ODL laminate, 4mil ULTRA FILM)

FASTEST DUCKING

Super high clew and short boom allow fastest possible ducking to avoid loosing any speed

iROCKET 2.0

The iRocket 2.0 is DUOTONEs lightest batten tensioner of all time

Tech Specs

Idol Ltd

SIZES
BOOM MAX (CM)
LUFF MAX (CM)
VARIO TOP
BATTENS
WEIGHT (KG)
MAST TYPE (BEST/ALT.)
MAST GEO (BEST/ALT.)
MAST LENGTH (BEST/ALT.)
3.64.04.44.85.25.6
142145149155159167
374385401419435443
----------
444444
2.402.552.702.903.003.15
PLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVER
RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--
340/370370370400430/400430

DETAILS

IDOL LTD

Light – lighter – a radically lightweight sail. The IDOL LTD is the completely personalised pro model of freestyle record world champion Gollito Estredo. Boasting incredible handling characteristics, the sail was created by designer Kai Hopf, implementing all the desires of the rider himself. The result is the most highly developed and extreme freestyle sails that we have ever manufactured in series. All sizes are sensationally lightweight because the innovative and high-tech laminate ODL and the 100-micron ULTRA FILM were used instead of the usual XPLY material. These materials are 50% lighter than previous sailcloths, which makes the IDOL LTD weigh about as much as a 1.5 m² smaller SUPER HERO (e.g. 4.8 and 3.4).

The IDOL LTD can do everything a freestyler needs it to. In addition to its absolutely neutral handling, it gives no unwanted feedback and is incredibly lightweight in your hands, leaving you free to concentrate fully on your moves and manoeuvres. You’d think you were turning without your sail, since the IDOL LTD rotates incredibly fast through all tricks and is completely balanced in the wind during duck moves. The extremely high clew and the short boom length make diving manoeuvres so fast that almost no speed is lost. Not only will the IDOL LTD boost your success rate for difficult manoeuvres, it will also make it a lot more fun to meet new challenges.

Important: Although this is something other manufacturers are reluctant to mention, achieving the lowest weight can only be achieved by reducing the thickness of materials. Because the thickness of the ODL yacht laminate was kept to a minimum, the material’s UV stability is limited. As a result, this sail is not subject to the DUOTONE 2+3 YEAR WARRANTY.

TRUE QUOTES

IDOL LTD

GOLLITO ESTREDO
“WITH A SLIGHTLY NARROWER TOP AND THE BATTEN ABOVE THE BOOM MOVED DOWN THE NEW IDOL LTD GIVES ME EVEN MORE LIFT AND CONTROL FOR MY MOVES.”
GOLLITO ESTREDO
“AT FIRST I COULDN’T BELIEVE IT BUT THE NEW IDOL LTD IS MORE STABLE IN HIGH WINDS YET HAS MORE PLANING POWER!”
ADRIEN BOSSON
ADRIEN BOSSON

TECH FEATURES

IDOL LTD

Set & Go Vario-Top
Set & Go Vario-TopSet & Go Vario-Top

No more trial and error when trying to find the best vario top setting. Even when first rigging up, the correct length of the vario top is found straight away. Clear length indicators mark out the perfect setting with reference to the mast length used, eliminating any need for testing or re-adjustments.

TT Top
TT TopTT Top

Improved sail control at higher winds. Designer Kai Hopf originally designed the TT TOP for the WARP. The reduced, concave shape improves tension conditions for a more effective, three-dimensional top twist. This means the top twists not only horizontally, but also vertically under strong winds. By completely neutralising gusts of wind, the rig is kept steady in the rider’s hands, and thus works in a much larger range of winds.

iRocket 2.0
iRocket 2.0iRocket 2.0

Super-lightweight and aerodynamic.

An inconspicuous detail with a massive impact. iROCKET 2.0 batten tensioners are super-lightweight, aerodynamic and highly stable, consisting of high-quality components such as a self-lubricating, salt-water-resistant brass nut with stainless-steel screw which can withstand all batten tensions. Furthermore, the iROCKET 2.0 is an essential component for a true windsurfing revolution.

100% correct batten tension, correctly adjusted when purchased and forever after. We calibrate each individual batten at the factory according to development specifications. And we don’t just leave it up to blind intuition either – all battens are adjusted to 100% accuracy using torque wrenches. We also apply soluble screw adhesive to the locknuts so that the tension cannot be altered. This means that the batten tension remains absolutely correct and will never have to be adjusted again. The batten key included with the sail is therefore only needed for fine tuning or in the unlikely event of a batten breakage.

Mini Batten
Mini BattenMini Batten

These prevent unwanted leech flutter.

Short and highly effective mini-battens which provide support for the areas between the battens and prevent undesirable flutter.

Ultra Film
Ultra FilmUltra Film

Lighter and stronger than all.

The most lightweight monofilm on the market. In order to save even more weight, we use the 100-micron thick ULTRA FILM for the super-lightweight IDOL LTD and WARP. However, our experience over the last five years has shown that our exclusive ULTRA FILM is even more durable and long-lasting in practice than 20–30% thicker or heavier standard films. The secret to this is its special chemical composition, since carbon particles are only used in ULTRA FILM – an extreme monofilm which is used in the entire body panel and plays a significant part in reducing weight to a minimum owing to its low thickness.

Double Seam Technology
Double Seam TechnologyDouble Seam Technology

Double the durability with half as much stretch. DUOTONE manufactures products of unmatched quality which gives our sails a significantly longer lifetime. A key feature which helps to achieve this is the triple-stitch zig-zag seams. Unlike other products with their single-seam design, these are double-seam. They cover all exposed crash areas, which increases tear resistance and reduces bending-elongation by up to 50%, boosting profile stability and performance.

Mast Sleeve Opener
Mast Sleeve OpenerMast Sleeve Opener

Frictionless insertion of the mast into the luff sleeve. An ingenious solution does away with the tedium of inserting the mast. The DUOTONE logo above the boom cutout gently opens the sleeve so that the mast can be threaded with one hand into the luff friction-free, without having to constantly make adjustments to the luff.

X.PLY PLUS
X.PLY PLUSX.PLY PLUS

What would you prefer? Maximum puncture resistance and UV weathering resistance with minimal stretch? Or (theoretically) improved ripstop properties?

We went with option A and developed the most durable laminate on the market. Because the factors of puncture resistance, durability and stretch evidently depend only on the thickness of the film used, we use only 150 or 100 micron thick films for our exclusive XPLY PLUS. In an extensive series of tests, we have developed the ideal combination of necessary film thickness and number of threads. The X.PLY PLUS in particular, at 150 microns in thickness, boasts durability characteristics far in excess of previous laminates at minimal weight. This is also acknowledged by all the big surfing centres and rental equipment providers around the world, who place their trust in the unbeatable quality and longevity of our sails.

Polyester Webbing Only
Polyester Webbing OnlyPolyester Webbing Only

Eliminating stretch and loss of tension. If it’s good enough for safety harnesses, it’s good enough for windsurfers! We are the only manufacturer to use only polyester webbing for the (vario) top and the tack roller. This advantage of this compared to conventional polypropylene is the negligible amount of stretch. As a result even brand new sails will retain full luff tension and will not need subsequent trimming.

3D TOP CAP
3D TOP CAP3D TOP CAP

Optimised pull. On regular top caps and pin systems the webbing is connected in a “one-dimensional” way with the sail body (either side to side or front to back), which transfers the downhaul tension only in certain points. The 3D TOP CAP allows a “three-dimensional” and very widespread transition of the downhaul forces into the sail body. This eliminates top fluttering and ensures a progressive loose leech extending the wind range. The integrated abrasion ribs eliminate the need for heavy, bulky reinforcements at the end of the luff sleeve.

DOUBLE D BUCKLE
DOUBLE D BUCKLEDOUBLE D BUCKLE

Inspired by high-strength climbing harnesses and Formula 1 helmets. The exclusive, two-part metal double-D buckle on the vario top, which replaces traditional solutions. This design guarantees the best trimming characteristics and eliminates all webbing slippage.

VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0
VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0

Perfect trim and a huge range of use.

You won’t find a quicker or more accurate way of trimming your sail. Even beginners can trim the sail in a matter of seconds to 100% accuracy. All you need to do is pull the luff until the top of the loose leech reaches the “lower wind limit” or “upper wind limit”. The VTS acts as a power boost, ensuring maximum performance and broader range of use.

TRIPLE TACK ROLLER
TRIPLE TACK ROLLERTRIPLE TACK ROLLER

Find the perfect trim with minimal effort.

The integrated, nickel-plated brass triple roller minimizes the downhaul forces tremendously.

HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM
HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEMHTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM

Never position your harness lines incorrectly again. Do away with the tedium of adjusting to the optimum rope position, as well as the numb forearms and the endless fiddling around. The patented print on the sail shows exactly where the centre of the harness line has to be. All you need to do is position the two ends symmetrically at the left and right of the print.

DURATECH FOOT
DURATECH FOOT

Long-term guarantee for the sail foot. When starting off on the water or catching up, the foot of the sail is constantly dragged over the nonslip coating, particularly for wide boards. With the exclusive DURATECH FOOT, the seams are completely protected within a large plastic channel so that the surface cannot chafe against seams and material.

360° VIEW

IDOL LTD

GALLERY

IDOL LTD

Duotone_Windsurfing_Sail_Idol_LTD_2019