IDOL LTD
IDOL LTD
3D
SIZES
3,64,04,44,85,25,6

IDOL LTD

ULRALIGHT FREESTYLE COMP

Art.-No. 14900-1206

THE LIGHTEST YET MOST COMPETITIVE FREESTYLE SAIL OUT THERE!

CHARACTERISTICS

WINDRANGE
Planing
Stability
RANGE OF USE
Flatwater
Down the Line
DRAFT FEELING
Forward / Direct
Centered / Soft
FREESTYLE ABILITY
New School
Classic

KEY FEATURES

CONVEX DACRON LUFF-PANEL

Maximum elasticity without distortion of the battens enables maximum lift for all jumps from lee position.

HOLLOW LOWER LEECH

HOLLOW LOWER LEECH avec MINI BATTEN supplémentaire : Stabilise la forme au-dessus du wishbone et prévient tout flottement de la chute

RADIAL LOAD STRIPES

Les RADIAL LOAD STRIPES supplémentaires dans le point d’écoute améliorent la stabilité de profil et élargissent la plage d utilisation

LIGHTEST FREESTYLE SAIL

Grâce à l’emploi des meilleurs des matériaux haute performance (laminé ODL, ULTRA FILM 100 microns), nous vous présentons la voile de freestyle la plus légère de tous les temps

FASTEST DUCKING

Point d’écoute ultra-haut et wishbone court pour des manœuvres sans perte de vitesse

iROCKET 2.0

iROCKET 2.0, l’étarqueur de lattes DUOTONE le plus léger de tous les temps

Tech Specs

Idol Ltd

SIZES
BOOM MAX (CM)
LUFF MAX (CM)
VARIO TOP
BATTENS
WEIGHT (KG)
MAST TYPE (BEST/ALT.)
MAST GEO (BEST/ALT.)
MAST LENGTH (BEST/ALT.)
3.64.04.44.85.25.6
142145149155159167
374385401419435443
----------
444444
2.402.552.702.903.003.15
PLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVER
RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--
340/370370370400430/400430

DETAILS

IDOL LTD

Léger, plus léger, une légèreté sans égale ! L’IDOL LTD est la réplique très personnelle du multiple champion du monde de freestyle Gollito Estredo. Grâce à cette merveille de maniabilité, le designer Kai Hopf a exaucé tous les vœux du champion et créé la voile de freestyle la plus perfectionnée et la plus extrême jamais produite en série. Toutes les tailles de voile sont d’une légèreté incroyable, car le laminé high tech révolutionnaire ODL et l’ULTRA FILM 100 microns sont venus remplacer le XPLY habituel. Ces matériaux sont 50 % plus légers que les tissus employés jusqu’ici, ce qui signifie que l’IDOL LTD pèse le même poids qu'une SUPER HERO mesurant 1,5 m2 de moins (p. ex. 4,8 correspond à 3,4) !

L’IDOL LTD peut exaucer tous les souhaits des freestylers. Sa neutralité est absolue, sans aucun mouvement parasite, et elle est d’une légèreté si incroyable que le rider peut rester concentré à 100 % sur les moves et les manœuvres. On pourrait s’imaginer qu’on tourne sans voile en voyant la vitesse fulgurante à laquelle l’IDOL LTD permet de réaliser toutes les figures ou son équilibre parfait dans le vent lors des Duck Jibes. Le point d’écoute ultra-haut et le wishbone court accélèrent les duck jibes à tel point que la perte de vitesse est quasiment inexistante. Avec l’IDOL LTD, vous êtes sûr de voir soudain le taux de réussite des manœuvres difficiles augmenter et de prendre encore plus de plaisir à relever de nouveaux défis !

Attention : Même si les autres fabricants n’en parlent pas : il n’est possible d’obtenir un poids réduit qu’en réduisant l’épaisseur des matériaux. Comme l’épaisseur du laminé ODL a été réduite à un minimum, la résistance aux rayons UV s’en voit diminuée. C’est pourquoi la garantie DUOTONE habituelle 2+3 ANS ne s’applique pas à cette voile !

TRUE QUOTES

IDOL LTD

GOLLITO ESTREDO
“WITH A SLIGHTLY NARROWER TOP AND THE BATTEN ABOVE THE BOOM MOVED DOWN THE NEW IDOL LTD GIVES ME EVEN MORE LIFT AND CONTROL FOR MY MOVES.”
GOLLITO ESTREDO
“AT FIRST I COULDN’T BELIEVE IT BUT THE NEW IDOL LTD IS MORE STABLE IN HIGH WINDS YET HAS MORE PLANING POWER!”
ADRIEN BOSSON
ADRIEN BOSSON

TECH FEATURES

IDOL LTD

TÉTIÈRE VARIO SET&GO
TÉTIÈRE VARIO SET&GOTÉTIÈRE VARIO SET&GO

Une têtière vario parfaitement positionnée sans réajustement. La longueur correcte de la têtière vario peut être déterminée dès le premier gréage. Des indicateurs de longueur très lisibles montrent le réglage parfait par rapport à la longueur de mât choisie ; plus besoin de tester et de réajuster !

TÊTIÈRE TT TOP
TÊTIÈRE TT TOPTÊTIÈRE TT TOP

Contrôle accru de la voile lorsque le vent souffle. À l’origine, le designer Kai Hopf avait conçu la TT TOP pour la WARP. La forme réduite, concave, améliore les rapports de tension, ce qui aboutit à une torsion tridimensionnelle plus efficace du haut de la voile. Cela signifie que lorsque la voie est soumise à un vent fort le haut se tort non seulement horizontalement mais également verticalement. Les rafales sont vraiment neutralisées et la prise en main du gréement facilitée, ce qui le rend utilisable sur une plus grande plage d’utilisation.

iRocket 2.0
iRocket 2.0iRocket 2.0

Ultra-léger et aérodynamique.

Un détail discret d’une efficacité incroyable. Les iROCKET 2.0 sont des étarqueurs de lattes ultra-légers, aérodynamiques et extrêmement stables. Ils sont constitués de composants de qualité, tel l’écrou en laiton auto-lubrifiant et résistant à l'eau salée avec vis en acier inoxydable, qui s’adapte à toutes les tensions de latte. L’iROCKET 2.0 est aussi à l’origine d'une véritable révolution :

Une tension de latte correcte à 100 % en sortie d’usine, un réglage qui dure toute une vie.

Nous effectuons déjà le calibrage de chaque latte en usine selon les indications du centre de développement. Pas au hasard mais avec une clé dynamométrique, pour une précision totale. De plus, le contre écrou est équipé de vis collées démontables qui préviennent le dérèglement de la tension. Cela signifie que la tension des lattes est parfaitement correcte et le restera, sans aucun réajustement nécessaire, pour toujours ! La clé fournie avec les lattes ne servira donc qu’à d’éventuels micro-réglages individuels ou dans le cas très rare où une latte se briserait.

Mini Batten
Mini BattenMini Batten

Prévient les flottements de la chute non souhaités.

Mini-lattes courtes, très efficaces, qui soutiennent les zones entre les lattes continues et éliminent les flottements de chute qui fragiliseraient la voile.

Ultra Film
Ultra FilmUltra Film

Le plus léger et le plus résistant de tous.

Le monofilm le plus léger du marché. Pour réduire encore le poids, la fabrication de l’IDOL LTD ultra-légère et de la WARP se fait avec de l’ULTRA FILM de seulement 100 microns d’épaisseur. Toutefois, les données que nous avons recueillies au fil des 5 dernières années montrent qu’en pratique notre ULTRA FILM exclusif garde une meilleure durabilité et longévité que les films classique 20 à 30 % plus épais/lourds. Le secret réside dans la composition chimique particulière, car l’ULTRA FILM est le seul film contenant des particules de carbone. Un monofilm extrême utilisé dans tout le corps de la voile et qui, en raison de la faible épaisseur du matériau, joue un rôle crucial dans la réduction du poids de l’ensemble.

Double Seam Technology
Double Seam TechnologyDouble Seam Technology

Deux fois plus de longévité, deux fois moins d’étirement. La fabrication DUOTONE est d’une qualité sans pareille qui confère à nos voiles une durée de vie nettement supérieure. Les coutures triple point zig-zag y contribuent énormément. Et il ne s’agit pas des coutures simples habituelles mais de coutures doubles ! Elle s’étirent sur toutes les zones exposées en cas de chute, ce qui augmente la résistance aux déchirures et réduit la variation de déformation de 50 % maximum au profit de la stabilité de profil et des performances.

Mast Sleeve Opener
Mast Sleeve OpenerMast Sleeve Opener

Insertion sans friction du mât dans le fourreau. Une astuce géniale pour en finir avec l’insertion laborieuse du mât. Le logo DUOTONE au-dessus de la fenêtre du wishbone permet d’ouvrir facilement le fourreau, de telle sorte que l’insertion du mât se fait sans devoir tirer constamment sur le fourreau et sans friction.

X.PLY PLUS
X.PLY PLUSX.PLY PLUS

Que préférez-vous : une résistance à la perforation et aux UV maximale avec une faible élasticité ou de meilleures (en théorie) propriétés anti-déchirures ?

Nous avons choisi la première option et conçu le laminé le plus durable disponible sur le marché. Comme il s’avère que la résistance à la perforation, la longévité et l’élasticité sont tous des facteurs qui dépendent exclusivement de l’épaisseur de film utilisée, nous n’utilisons notre film exclusif XPLY PLUS qu’en épaisseur 150 ou 100 microns. Nous avons mené des tests poussés pour déterminer la combinaison optimale entre l’épaisseur nécessaire de film et le nombre de fils. C’est avant tout le X.PLY PLUS dans une épaisseur de 150 microns qui présente, avec un poids additionnel minimum, une durabilité dépassant de loin celle des tissus utilisés jusqu’ici. Tous les grands centres nautiques et loueurs de matériel dans le monde entier en sont conscients, et c’est pour cela qu’ils font confiance à la qualité et à la durée de vie inégalables de nos voiles.

Polyester Webbing Only
Polyester Webbing OnlyPolyester Webbing Only

Pas d’étirement, pas de perte de tension. Les matériaux qui ont fait leurs preuves dans les harnais de sécurité sont parfaits pour le windsurf ! Nous somme le seul fabricant à utiliser exclusivement des sangles en polyester pour les têtières (vario) comme pour les poulies. Par rapport au polypropylène classique, le polyester présente l’avantage d’un étirement quasi inexistant. Ainsi, même les voiles flambant neuves conservent leur pleine tension au point d’amure, leur étarquage n’a pas besoin d’être corrigé.

TOP CAP 3D
TOP CAP 3DTOP CAP 3D

Répartition optimale de la tension. Les sangles des têtières et systèmes pin classiques sont cousues au corps de la voile de manière « unidimensionnelle » (de gauche à droite ou d’avant en arrière), et la transmission de la tension au point d’amure n’est que ponctuelle. La TOP CAP 3D permet une transmission « tridimensionnelle » et très diversifiée des forces au corps de la voile. Le flottement du haut de la voile est éliminé tandis qu’un flottement progressif de la chute est assuré, ce qui élargit la plage d’utilisation. Grâce à la protection contre l’abrasion intégrée, les lourds renforts à l’extrémité du fourreau deviennent inutiles.

ATTACHE DOUBLE D
ATTACHE DOUBLE DATTACHE DOUBLE D

Inspirée par les baudriers et les casques de Formule 1 très résistants. L’attache métallique double D exclusive à deux parties sur la têtière vario remplace les solutions standards utilisées jusqu’ici. Cette construction est la garantie de propriétés d’étarquage optimales et élimine complètement le glissement de la sangle.

VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0
VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0

Un étarquage parfait et une plage d’utilisation énorme.

Jamais l’étarquage n’a été si rapide et précis ! Même les débutants seront à même d’étarquer impeccablement la voile en quelques secondes. Il suffit d’enfiler le bord d'attaque jusqu’à ce que la chute flottante atteigne le marquage « limite de vent inférieure » ou « limite supérieure », et le tour est joué ! Le VTS (repère pour l’étarquage de la voile) a l’effet d’un turbocompresseur, assurant des performances optimales et une plage d'utilisation élargie.

TRIPLE TACK ROLLER
TRIPLE TACK ROLLERTRIPLE TACK ROLLER

Un minimum d’efforts pour un étarquage parfait.

La triple poulie en laiton nickelé réduit considérablement l’effort au point d’amure.

HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM
HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEMHTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM

Dites adieu aux bouts de harnais mal positionnés ! Plus de tâtonnement laborieux pour trouver la position optimale pour les bouts de harnais, plus d’avant-bras raidis, plus besoin de se cramponner en permanence ! L’inscription brevetée indique l’emplacement précis où devra se trouver le milieu du bout de harnais. Il suffit de monter les extrémités symétriquement à gauche et à droite de l’inscription, et c’est bon.

DURATECH FOOT
DURATECH FOOT

Garantie de longue durée pour le bas de la voile. Lors du waterstart ou de la levée de la voile, le bas de la voile frotte sans cesse contre l’anti-dérapant du flotteur, en particulier avec les planches larges. La technologie sophistiquée DURATECH FOOT consiste à recouvrir les coutures d’une grande gouttière plastique qui prévient le frottement et empêche la surface antidérapantes d’abîmer les coutures et le matériau.

360° VIEW

IDOL LTD

GALLERY

IDOL LTD

IDOL LTD
IDOL LTD
3D
SIZES
3,64,04,44,85,25,6

IDOL LTD

ULRALIGHT FREESTYLE COMP

Art.-No. 14900-1206

THE LIGHTEST YET MOST COMPETITIVE FREESTYLE SAIL OUT THERE!

CHARACTERISTICS

WINDRANGE
Planing
Stability
RANGE OF USE
Flatwater
Down the Line
DRAFT FEELING
Forward / Direct
Centered / Soft
FREESTYLE ABILITY
New School
Classic

KEY FEATURES

CONVEX DACRON LUFF-PANEL

Maximum elasticity without distortion from the battens enables maximum lift for all jumps against the sail

HOLLOW LOWER LEECH

Hollow Lower Leech (scooped leech outline) with additional MINI BATTEN stabilizes the profile right above the boom and prevents leech flattering

RADIAL LOAD STRIPES

Additional Radial Load Stripes at the clew improve the stability and extend the wind range

LIGHTEST FREESTYLE SAIL

Our lightest Freestyle sail of all time, thanks to trend-setting high-tech yachting material (ODL laminate, 4mil ULTRA FILM)

FASTEST DUCKING

Super high clew and short boom allow fastest possible ducking to avoid loosing any speed

iROCKET 2.0

The iRocket 2.0 is DUOTONEs lightest batten tensioner of all time

Tech Specs

Idol Ltd

SIZES
BOOM MAX (CM)
LUFF MAX (CM)
VARIO TOP
BATTENS
WEIGHT (KG)
MAST TYPE (BEST/ALT.)
MAST GEO (BEST/ALT.)
MAST LENGTH (BEST/ALT.)
3.64.04.44.85.25.6
142145149155159167
374385401419435443
----------
444444
2.402.552.702.903.003.15
PLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVERPLATINUM / GOLD>SILVER
RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--RDM/--
340/370370370400430/400430

DETAILS

IDOL LTD

Light – lighter – a radically lightweight sail. The IDOL LTD is the completely personalised pro model of freestyle record world champion Gollito Estredo. Boasting incredible handling characteristics, the sail was created by designer Kai Hopf, implementing all the desires of the rider himself. The result is the most highly developed and extreme freestyle sails that we have ever manufactured in series. All sizes are sensationally lightweight because the innovative and high-tech laminate ODL and the 100-micron ULTRA FILM were used instead of the usual XPLY material. These materials are 50% lighter than previous sailcloths, which makes the IDOL LTD weigh about as much as a 1.5 m² smaller SUPER HERO (e.g. 4.8 and 3.4).

The IDOL LTD can do everything a freestyler needs it to. In addition to its absolutely neutral handling, it gives no unwanted feedback and is incredibly lightweight in your hands, leaving you free to concentrate fully on your moves and manoeuvres. You’d think you were turning without your sail, since the IDOL LTD rotates incredibly fast through all tricks and is completely balanced in the wind during duck moves. The extremely high clew and the short boom length make diving manoeuvres so fast that almost no speed is lost. Not only will the IDOL LTD boost your success rate for difficult manoeuvres, it will also make it a lot more fun to meet new challenges.

Important: Although this is something other manufacturers are reluctant to mention, achieving the lowest weight can only be achieved by reducing the thickness of materials. Because the thickness of the ODL yacht laminate was kept to a minimum, the material’s UV stability is limited. As a result, this sail is not subject to the DUOTONE 2+3 YEAR WARRANTY.

TRUE QUOTES

IDOL LTD

GOLLITO ESTREDO
“WITH A SLIGHTLY NARROWER TOP AND THE BATTEN ABOVE THE BOOM MOVED DOWN THE NEW IDOL LTD GIVES ME EVEN MORE LIFT AND CONTROL FOR MY MOVES.”
GOLLITO ESTREDO
“AT FIRST I COULDN’T BELIEVE IT BUT THE NEW IDOL LTD IS MORE STABLE IN HIGH WINDS YET HAS MORE PLANING POWER!”
ADRIEN BOSSON
ADRIEN BOSSON

TECH FEATURES

IDOL LTD

Set & Go Vario-Top
Set & Go Vario-TopSet & Go Vario-Top

No more trial and error when trying to find the best vario top setting. Even when first rigging up, the correct length of the vario top is found straight away. Clear length indicators mark out the perfect setting with reference to the mast length used, eliminating any need for testing or re-adjustments.

TT Top
TT TopTT Top

Improved sail control at higher winds. Designer Kai Hopf originally designed the TT TOP for the WARP. The reduced, concave shape improves tension conditions for a more effective, three-dimensional top twist. This means the top twists not only horizontally, but also vertically under strong winds. By completely neutralising gusts of wind, the rig is kept steady in the rider’s hands, and thus works in a much larger range of winds.

iRocket 2.0
iRocket 2.0iRocket 2.0

Super-lightweight and aerodynamic.

An inconspicuous detail with a massive impact. iROCKET 2.0 batten tensioners are super-lightweight, aerodynamic and highly stable, consisting of high-quality components such as a self-lubricating, salt-water-resistant brass nut with stainless-steel screw which can withstand all batten tensions. Furthermore, the iROCKET 2.0 is an essential component for a true windsurfing revolution.

100% correct batten tension, correctly adjusted when purchased and forever after. We calibrate each individual batten at the factory according to development specifications. And we don’t just leave it up to blind intuition either – all battens are adjusted to 100% accuracy using torque wrenches. We also apply soluble screw adhesive to the locknuts so that the tension cannot be altered. This means that the batten tension remains absolutely correct and will never have to be adjusted again. The batten key included with the sail is therefore only needed for fine tuning or in the unlikely event of a batten breakage.

Mini Batten
Mini BattenMini Batten

These prevent unwanted leech flutter.

Short and highly effective mini-battens which provide support for the areas between the battens and prevent undesirable flutter.

Ultra Film
Ultra FilmUltra Film

Lighter and stronger than all.

The most lightweight monofilm on the market. In order to save even more weight, we use the 100-micron thick ULTRA FILM for the super-lightweight IDOL LTD and WARP. However, our experience over the last five years has shown that our exclusive ULTRA FILM is even more durable and long-lasting in practice than 20–30% thicker or heavier standard films. The secret to this is its special chemical composition, since carbon particles are only used in ULTRA FILM – an extreme monofilm which is used in the entire body panel and plays a significant part in reducing weight to a minimum owing to its low thickness.

Double Seam Technology
Double Seam TechnologyDouble Seam Technology

Double the durability with half as much stretch. DUOTONE manufactures products of unmatched quality which gives our sails a significantly longer lifetime. A key feature which helps to achieve this is the triple-stitch zig-zag seams. Unlike other products with their single-seam design, these are double-seam. They cover all exposed crash areas, which increases tear resistance and reduces bending-elongation by up to 50%, boosting profile stability and performance.

Mast Sleeve Opener
Mast Sleeve OpenerMast Sleeve Opener

Frictionless insertion of the mast into the luff sleeve. An ingenious solution does away with the tedium of inserting the mast. The DUOTONE logo above the boom cutout gently opens the sleeve so that the mast can be threaded with one hand into the luff friction-free, without having to constantly make adjustments to the luff.

X.PLY PLUS
X.PLY PLUSX.PLY PLUS

What would you prefer? Maximum puncture resistance and UV weathering resistance with minimal stretch? Or (theoretically) improved ripstop properties?

We went with option A and developed the most durable laminate on the market. Because the factors of puncture resistance, durability and stretch evidently depend only on the thickness of the film used, we use only 150 or 100 micron thick films for our exclusive XPLY PLUS. In an extensive series of tests, we have developed the ideal combination of necessary film thickness and number of threads. The X.PLY PLUS in particular, at 150 microns in thickness, boasts durability characteristics far in excess of previous laminates at minimal weight. This is also acknowledged by all the big surfing centres and rental equipment providers around the world, who place their trust in the unbeatable quality and longevity of our sails.

Polyester Webbing Only
Polyester Webbing OnlyPolyester Webbing Only

Eliminating stretch and loss of tension. If it’s good enough for safety harnesses, it’s good enough for windsurfers! We are the only manufacturer to use only polyester webbing for the (vario) top and the tack roller. This advantage of this compared to conventional polypropylene is the negligible amount of stretch. As a result even brand new sails will retain full luff tension and will not need subsequent trimming.

3D TOP CAP
3D TOP CAP3D TOP CAP

Optimised pull. On regular top caps and pin systems the webbing is connected in a “one-dimensional” way with the sail body (either side to side or front to back), which transfers the downhaul tension only in certain points. The 3D TOP CAP allows a “three-dimensional” and very widespread transition of the downhaul forces into the sail body. This eliminates top fluttering and ensures a progressive loose leech extending the wind range. The integrated abrasion ribs eliminate the need for heavy, bulky reinforcements at the end of the luff sleeve.

DOUBLE D BUCKLE
DOUBLE D BUCKLEDOUBLE D BUCKLE

Inspired by high-strength climbing harnesses and Formula 1 helmets. The exclusive, two-part metal double-D buckle on the vario top, which replaces traditional solutions. This design guarantees the best trimming characteristics and eliminates all webbing slippage.

VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0
VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0VTS VISUAL TRIM SYSTEM 2.0

Perfect trim and a huge range of use.

You won’t find a quicker or more accurate way of trimming your sail. Even beginners can trim the sail in a matter of seconds to 100% accuracy. All you need to do is pull the luff until the top of the loose leech reaches the “lower wind limit” or “upper wind limit”. The VTS acts as a power boost, ensuring maximum performance and broader range of use.

TRIPLE TACK ROLLER
TRIPLE TACK ROLLERTRIPLE TACK ROLLER

Find the perfect trim with minimal effort.

The integrated, nickel-plated brass triple roller minimizes the downhaul forces tremendously.

HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM
HTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEMHTS 2.0 HARNESSLINE TRIM SYSTEM

Never position your harness lines incorrectly again. Do away with the tedium of adjusting to the optimum rope position, as well as the numb forearms and the endless fiddling around. The patented print on the sail shows exactly where the centre of the harness line has to be. All you need to do is position the two ends symmetrically at the left and right of the print.

DURATECH FOOT
DURATECH FOOT

Long-term guarantee for the sail foot. When starting off on the water or catching up, the foot of the sail is constantly dragged over the nonslip coating, particularly for wide boards. With the exclusive DURATECH FOOT, the seams are completely protected within a large plastic channel so that the surface cannot chafe against seams and material.

360° VIEW

IDOL LTD

GALLERY

IDOL LTD

Duotone_Windsurfing_Sail_Idol_LTD_2019