Liam Whaley

Liam Whaley

Duotone Team



Liam Whaley



Tarifa, Spain





Top 3 kitesurfing spots?

Cumbuco and Tatajuba in Brazil, Raches in Greece and my homespot Tarifa in Spain


Favourite gear setup?

I am pretty new on the team so I haven’t fully tried all of the gear yet but for now I have tried the Dice SLS 8,9 meter with the Jaime SLS 136 for big air and I love this setup! I am still really keen to try the Evo and Rebel before choosing my favourite bi air kite.

For Freestyle I love the Vegas 11m with the Team series SLS 142.


The biggest achievements in your kiteboarding career

Freestyle World Champion and 2nd & 3rd place at the King Of The Air.


Your hobbies aside kiteboarding?

I love all board sports; Surfing, Snowboarding, skating and I am also very into playing Tennis at the moment.


What do you do on a day without wind?

Work a bit on my laptop, either editing content or working on my Kite Center project and I always try to do some sport, probably go to the gym or play tennis.


What style of music are you interested in?

Rap, house and techno!


How and why did you start kiteboarding?

It was mainly through my dad. He was a watersports enthusiast, Windsurfing since he was young and then he got into kiting once he discovered it. I would always come down to the beach and watch him and I guess it seemed very attractive to me. I took my first lesson In Tarifa at the age of 8!


Why are you riding for Duotone?

I think it’s my destiny to ride Duotone. I have always looked up to the brand and feel that I have gotten to a stage in my career that I have to be with the leading brand. Besides this I love the huge range of gear that they have and I have now gotten to know some people from inside the company and It has been a pleasure working with them so far.


What is your main goal for the future?

I really want to take Kitesurfing to the next level. Big projects, bigger events, more prize money e.t.c Personally I want to continue to achieve great results and leave a legacy behind!


What training do you do to stay fit?

I do a lot of alternative training off the water. Balance, coordination, mobility, flexibility. Discovering new ways of moving the body. Mostly stuff with my own body weight. I have a trainer that helps me with this.


What would have been your job if you wouldn´t be a pro kiteboarder?

I think I would always be an athlete of some sport. Before Kiting I was very into Skateboarding and before that it was football so I’ve always been trying to be the best at some sport.


What´s your favourite food?

Sushi 100% but anything that is healthy works for me.


What did you always want to say?

If you find something you are good at, believe in yourself and dedicate your time fully to that thing, It will lead you to success!


Liam Whaley

Welcome to the team